top of page

Love at First Bite

The most popular reaction I get from friends and family about what I create in the kitchen is, "Wow! I had no idea you were in to baking."

Truth is, I never knew it either. I always thought of myself as one dimensional: I do hair.

The second most popular thing I have gotten used to hearing is, "How did you get started?" I had trouble even remembering how it all began... it has barely been a month and a half since my newest obsession began, but it feels like a lifetime! I have been obsessed with baking since October 8th (thank you Instagram for keeping dates on my posts) when I created my first cupcake.

My first seven cupcakes, to be exact! Well, seven decent ones at least. I mean, look at those petals! Look at those stamens!!

Russian piping tips, my friends. That is where this all began! I was perusing Amazon when I stumbled upon a beautiful 78 piece set that I absolutely, positively had to have! Thank God for free 2 day shipping. They arrived just in time for the weekend, and I spent all Sunday afternoon creating. I can't believe how much fun I had custom blending dyes for the perfect shade of pink.

David couldn't believe it when he saw them. He also refused to believe that it was my first go at making cupcakes EVER. Not because of the way they looked, but because of the way they tasted.

Modesty is something that I'm struggling to learn, because these really are the best cupcakes I've ever tasted in my life.

vanilla cupcakes

yields 24-26 cupcakes

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 cups sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup milk

1/2 cup canola oil

1 tbsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup water

directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F, and prepare a cupcake pan with liners.

2. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt to a large mixer bowl and combine.

3. Add the milk, canola oil, vanilla extract, and eggs to a medium sized bowl and combine.

4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and beat until well combined.

5. Slowly add the water to the mixed batter on a slow speed until well combined. Please note that the batter will be excessively thin.

6. Fill the cupcake liners about half way, and bake for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out with a few moist crumbs.

7. Remove cupcakes from the over and allow to cool for 2 minutes, then remove from pan and transfer to a cooling rack to finish cooling.

american buttercream icing

1 cup butter, softened

4 1/2-5 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

5 tbsp heavy crea

1/4 tsp salt

directions:

1. In a medium bowl, combine butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, heavy cream, and salt.

2. Beat for 5-7 minutes on a medium speed until light and fluffy.

*add more powdered sugar as needed for a stiffer, thicker frosting.

*add cream a little at a time to thin frosting.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page