top of page

Scratch or Mix?

"A box mix."

"WHAT?"

"That's what I want. A 'super moist' white cake mix, with almond flavoring."

So... definite. So... to the point. So... basic ! I couldn't believe my ears... my own mother, wanting a BOX MIX for her birthday? ugh.

Abruptly after that conversation, I consulted Pinterest. The search was on for how to make a premixed-like cake from scratch. What I found was quite the opposite: "embellished" cake mix? "doctored" cake mix? What the heck was that? Well my friends, it's exactly what it sounds. I prefer the term, a jazzed up cake mix *insert jazz hands*

YOU GUYS. I FELL IN LOVE. But this wasn't your typical infatuation with a recipe, oh no- it came with strings attached. Was I cheating? Was this allowed in this industry? What would my friends and family think when they found out that my new favorite recipe came from a jazzed up cake mix?

Truth is, I don't really care what people think. And they won't remember to care if it's 100% scratch or not after they taste it! This cake was delicious. It was doctored up enough to make me feel like I actually did something. And best of all, I'm including the recipe here for you to give it a try yourself!

ingredients:

2 (18 ounce) boxes white cake mix (Betty Crocker or Pillsbury) 2 cups all-purpose flour 2 cups granulated sugar 1 1⁄2 teaspoons salt 2 2⁄3 cups water 1⁄4 cup vegetable oil 2 teaspoons real vanilla 2 teaspoons almond extract 2 cups sour cream 8 large egg whites

directions:

Place all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir together with a wire whisk.

Add the remaining ingredients and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.

Pour into a greased pan, filling each pan a little over half full.

Lightly tap cake pans on countertop to bring air bubbles to the top.

Bake in preheated oven at 325 until cake tests done. Baking time varies upon size and depth of pans being used.

happy baking!

-kady


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page